Skip to main content Start of content

CIMM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 47
Thursday, May 7, 2015

The Standing Committee on Citizenship and Immigration met at 8:48 a.m. this day, in Room 268, The Valour Building, the Chair, David Tilson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Jay Aspin, Lysane Blanchette-Lamothe, Jim Eglinski, Chungsen Leung, Hon. John McCallum, Costas Menegakis, Jasbir Sandhu and David Tilson.


Acting Members present: Mike Sullivan for Irene Mathyssen and David Sweet for Devinder Shory.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Julie Béchard, Analyst; Sandra Elgersma, Analyst.


Witnesses: As individuals: Sharry Aiken, Professor, Faculty of Law, Queen's University; Elsii Faria, Consultant, Marketing and Communications. Community Development and Training: Aruna Papp, President. METRAC Action on Violence: Tamar Witelson, Legal Director; Silmi Abdullah, Program Lawyer. As an individual: Hannana Siddiqui, Head of Policy and Research, Southall Black Sisters.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, March 23, 2015, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill S-7, An Act to amend the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act, the Civil Marriage Act and the Criminal Code and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

Aruna Papp, Sharry Aiken, Tamar Witelson, Silmi Abdullah and Elsii Faria made statements and answered questions.


At 9:45 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:48 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Hannana Siddiqui, by videoconference from London, England, made a statement and answered questions.


At 10:18 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee

2015/05/07 12:56 p.m.