Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 47
Wednesday, May 13, 2015

The Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 228, The Valour Building, the Chair, Gordon Brown, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Gordon Brown, Hon. Stéphane Dion, Rick Dykstra, Jim Hillyer, Rathika Sitsabaiesan, Kennedy Stewart, John Weston, Terence Young and David Yurdiga.


Acting Members present: Paul Calandra for Rick Dykstra and Peggy Nash for Pierre Nantel.


In attendance: House of Commons: Michelle Legault, Procedural Clerk. Library of Parliament: Michael Dewing, Analyst; Chloé Forget, Analyst; Marion Ménard, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canada Council for the Arts: Alexis Andrew, Head, Research and Evaluation Section; Caroline Lussier, Head, Dance Section. RUBBERBANDance Group: Fannie Bellefeuille, General Manager; Victor Quijada, Choreographer and Co-Artistic Director. The School of Toronto Dance Theatre: Patricia Fraser, Artistic Director. Canada's Royal Winnipeg Ballet: Jeff Herd, Executive Director. As an individual: Gregory Hines, Owner, DOAHL Academy. Confederation Centre of the Arts: Peggy Reddin, Director of Arts Education.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, February 18, 2015, the Committee resumed its study of dance in Canada.

Caroline Lussier, Alexis Andrew, Jeff Herd and Victor Quijada made statements and answered questions.


At 4:31 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:36 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Gregory Hines, Peggy Reddin and Patricia Fraser made statements and answered questions.


At 5:31 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Cynara Corbin
Clerk of the Committee

2015/05/14 10:27 a.m.