Skip to main content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 45
Wednesday, May 6, 2015

The Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 228, The Valour Building, the Chair, Gordon Brown, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Gordon Brown, Hon. Stéphane Dion, Jim Hillyer, Pierre Nantel, Kennedy Stewart, John Weston, Terence Young and David Yurdiga.


Acting Members present: Garry Breitkreuz for Rick Dykstra and Hoang Mai for Rathika Sitsabaiesan.


In attendance: House of Commons: Michelle Legault, Procedural Clerk. Library of Parliament: Michael Dewing, Analyst; Marion Ménard, Analyst.


Witnesses: Regroupement des distributeurs indépendants de films du Québec: Andrew Noble, President; Louis Dussault, Secretary. Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists (ACTRA): Stephen Waddell, National Executive Director; Sarah Gadon, Member. Cinespace Film Studios: Jim Mirkopoulos, Vice-president. Union des Artistes: Sophie Prégent, President; Daniel Charron. Vérité Film Inc.: Virginia Thompson, President and Executive Producer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Monday, February 16, 2015, the Committee resumed its review of the Canadian feature film industry.

Andrew Noble, Louis Dussault, Virginia Thompson and Sophie Prégent, by videoconference from Montreal, Quebec, made statements and, with Daniel Charron by videoconference from Montreal, Quebec, answered questions.


At 4:32 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:35 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Jim Mirkopoulos and Stephen Waddell, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario and Sarah Gadon, by videoconference from Montreal, Quebec, made statements and answered questions.


At 5:21 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:22 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to give drafting instructions to the analysts for a report.

At 5:29 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Cynara Corbin
Clerk of the Committee

2015/05/07 1:55 p.m.