Skip to main content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 37
Monday, March 23, 2015

The Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 228, The Valour Building, the Chair, Gordon Brown, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Gordon Brown, Hon. Stéphane Dion, Rick Dykstra, Pierre Nantel, Kennedy Stewart, John Weston, Terence Young and David Yurdiga.


Acting Members present: Peggy Nash for Rathika Sitsabaiesan and Bev Shipley for Jim Hillyer.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Michael Dewing, Analyst; Marion Ménard, Analyst.


Witnesses: Telefilm Canada: Carolle Brabant, Executive Director; Michel Pradier, Director, Project Financing. Canada Council for the Arts: Simon Brault, Director and Chief executive officer , Director's Office; Youssef EL Jai, Head, Media Arts Section. Canadian Media Production Association: Michael Hennessy, President and Chief Executive Officer; Marc Séguin, Senior Vice-President, Policy. National Film Board of Canada: Claude Joli-Coeur, Government Film Commissioner and Chair. New Real Films: Jennifer Jonas, Producer, Co-Chair of Feature Film Committee, Canadian Media Production Association . Pope Productions: Paul Pope, Producer, Co-Chair of Feature Film Committee, Canadian Media Production Association.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Monday, February 16, 2015, the Committee resumed its review of the Canadian feature film industry.

Michael Hennessy, Marc Séguin, Paul Pope and Jennifer Jonas made statements and answered questions.


At 4:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:33 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Simon Brault, Claude Joli-Coeur and Carolle Brabant made statements and answered questions.


At 5:36 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Cynara Corbin
Clerk of the Committee

2015/03/24 3:14 p.m.