Skip to main content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 36
Monday, March 9, 2015

The Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 228, The Valour Building, the Chair, Gordon Brown, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Gordon Brown, Hon. Stéphane Dion, Rick Dykstra, Jim Hillyer, Rathika Sitsabaiesan, Kennedy Stewart, John Weston, Terence Young and David Yurdiga.


Acting Members present: Peggy Nash for Pierre Nantel.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Michael Dewing, Analyst; Marion Ménard, Analyst.


Witnesses: Dentons Canada: Ken Dhaliwal, Partner. CineCoup Media Inc.: J. Joly, Chief Executive Officer and Founder. Ernst & Young: Lui Petrollini, Partner, Media and Entertainment. Elevation Pictures: Naveen Prasad, Executive Vice-President and General Manager. Canadian Association of Film Distributors and Exporters: Richard Rapkowski. Entertainment One: Patrick Roy, President, Entertainment One Films Canada and Les Films Seville.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Monday, February 16, 2015, the Committee resumed its review of the Canadian feature film industry.

Ken Dhaliwal, J. Joly and Lui Petrollini, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, made statements and answered questions.


At 4:31 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:34 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Patrick Roy, Richard Rapkowski and Naveen Prasad made statements and answered questions.


At 5:33 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Cynara Corbin
Clerk of the Committee

2015/03/10 11:50 a.m.