Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 32
Monday, February 16, 2015

The Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage met in camera at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 228, The Valour Building, the chair, Gordon Brown, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Gordon Brown, Rick Dykstra, Jim Hillyer, Pierre Nantel, Rathika Sitsabaiesan, Kennedy Stewart, John Weston, Terence Young and David Yurdiga.


Acting Members present: Lise St-Denis for Hon. Stéphane Dion.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Michael Dewing, Analyst; Marion Ménard, Analyst.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That, pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) the Committee undertake a review of the Canadian feature film industry in order to: a) examine the effectiveness of government funding programs; b) explore ways to promote the value of the industry, the quality production services offered in Canada, and the exceptional content that is created by Canadians; and c) make recommendations to the government regarding support for the Canadian film industry, and report its findings to the House.


By unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.


It was agreed, — That during the meeting of Wednesday, February 18, 2015, one hour be devoted to the planning of the study of the Canadian feature film industry.


At 3:51 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Cynara Corbin
Clerk of the Committee

2015/02/18 10:11 a.m.