Skip to main content
Start of content

AANO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 17
Tuesday, March 25, 2014

The Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development met at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 8-53, 131 Queen Street, the Chair, Chris Warkentin, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Carolyn Bennett, Ray Boughen, Rob Clarke, Jean Crowder, Earl Dreeshen, Jonathan Genest-Jourdain, Carol Hughes, Kyle Seeback, Mark Strahl and Chris Warkentin.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tonina Simeone, Analyst; Norah Kielland, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. Bernard Valcourt, Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development.


Witnesses: Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development: Andrew Saranchuk, Assistant Deputy Minister, Resolution and Individual Affairs Sector. Department of Justice: Martin Reiher, Acting General Counsel, Director, Operations and Programs, Legal Services. Federation of Newfoundland Indians: Stephen May, Solicitor, Qalipu Mi'kmaq First Nation.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Friday, March 7, 2014, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-25, An Act respecting the Qalipu Mi'kmaq First Nation Band Order.

The Minister made a statement, and with Andrew Saranchuk and Martin Reiher, answered questions.


At 4:17 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:22 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Stephen May, by videoconference from St-John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, made a statement and answered questions.


At 4:58 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-Marie David
Clerk of the Committee

2014-05-27 11:44 a.m.