Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 47
Thursday, October 18, 2012

The Standing Committee on Transport, Infrastructure and Communities met in camera at 11:03 a.m. this day, in Room 228, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Larry Miller, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Robert Aubin, Olivia Chow, Hon. Denis Coderre, Joe Daniel, Ed Holder, Larry Miller, Pierre Poilievre, Mike Sullivan, Lawrence Toet and Jeff Watson.


Acting Members present: Pierre-Luc Dusseault for Isabelle Morin.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Allison Padova, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Finance: Nicolas Blouin, Chief, Economic Development, Business Income tax Division. Department of Transport: Luc Bourdon, Director General, Rail Safety; Martin J. Eley, Director General, Civil Aviation; Gerard McDonald, Assistant Deputy Minister, Safety and Security; Jutta Paczulla, Director, Innovation Policy; Merz Rustom, Director, Motor Vehicle Standards, Research and Development. Department of Natural Resources: Carol Buckley, Director General, Office of Energy Efficiency. Department of the Environment: Steve McCauley, Director General, Energy and Transportation.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on September 26, 2011, the Committee resumed its study of Innovative Transportation Technologies.

It was agreed, — That staff from Transport Canada be allowed to be present at today’s in camera meeting.


It was agreed, — That notwithstanding the routine motion about rounds of questioning, the Chair not allocate a fixed amount of time during the questioning of witnesses and that the Committee work through all of the recommendations one by one, with no preset speaking order, for today’s meeting and the meeting of Tuesday, October 23, 2012.


Gerard McDonald made a statement and, with Martin J. Eley, Nicolas Blouin, Carol Buckley and Merz Rustom, answered questions.


It was agreed, — That the Committee invite today’s witnesses to appear again on Tuesday, October 23, 2012.


At 12:47 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Alexandre Roger
Clerk of the Committee

2012/10/23 2:36 p.m.