Skip to main content
Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 32
Tuesday, April 24, 2012

The Standing Committee on Transport, Infrastructure and Communities met in a televised session at 8:36 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Merv Tweed, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Robert Aubin, Olivia Chow, Hon. Denis Coderre, Ed Holder, Isabelle Morin, Pierre Poilievre, Blake Richards, Mike Sullivan, Lawrence Toet, Merv Tweed and Jeff Watson.


Acting Members present: Dan Albas for Pierre Poilievre.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Allison Padova, Analyst. House of Commons: Lucie Tardif-Carpentier, Legislative Clerk.


Appearing: Hon. Denis Lebel, Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities.


Witnesses: Department of Transport: Luc Bourdon, Director General, Rail Safety.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, April 5, 2012, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill S-4, An Act to amend the Railway Safety Act and to make consequential amendments to the Canada Transportation Act.

Pursuant to Standing Order 75(1), consideration of Clause 1 is postponed.

The Chair called Clause 2.


The Minister made statement and, with Luc Bourdon, answered questions.


At 9:29 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:34 a.m., the sitting resumed.


By unanimous consent, the Committee proceeded to the election of a First Vice-Chair.

The Clerk of the Committee presided over the election of a First Vice-Chair.

On motion of Jeff Watson, it was agreed, — That Olivia Chow be elected First Vice-Chair of the Committee.


At 10:12 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:19 a.m., the sitting resumed.


The Committee commenced its clause-by-clause study of the Bill.


By unanimous consent, Clauses 2 to 45 inclusive carried severally.


The Short Title carried.


The Title carried.


The Bill carried.


ORDERED, — That the Chair report the Bill to the House.


At 10:21 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Alexandre Roger
Clerk of the Committee

2012/04/25 2:49 p.m.