Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 76
Wednesday, June 5, 2013

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met in a televised session at 3:40 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Mike Wallace, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dan Albas, Scott Armstrong, Hon. Irwin Cotler, Robert Goguen, Pierre Jacob, Hoang Mai, Wayne Marston, Kyle Seeback, Mike Wallace and David Wilks.


Acting Members present: Blaine Calkins for Brent Rathgeber, Sean Casey for Hon. Irwin Cotler, Erin O'Toole for Brent Rathgeber and Murray Rankin for Françoise Boivin.


In attendance: House of Commons: Philippe Méla, Legislative Clerk. Library of Parliament: Dominique Valiquet, Analyst.


Witnesses: As individuals: Isabelle Gaston; Carol de Delley; Tim de Delley; Lori Triano-Antidormi, Psychologist. Canadian Psychiatric Association: J. Paul Fedoroff, President, Canadian Academy of Psychiatry and the Law. Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies: Kim Pate, Executive Director. Criminal Lawyers' Association: Paul Burstein, Director; Erin Dann, Member. Canadian Bar Association: David M. Parry, Member, National Criminal Justice Section; Terry Hancock, Staff Lawyer, Law Reform. Schizophrenia Society of Canada: Chris Summerville, Chief Executive Officer, Alliance Facilitator. John Howard Society of Canada: Catherine Latimer, Executive Director.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, May 28, 2013, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-54, An Act to amend the Criminal Code and the National Defence Act (mental disorder).

Isabelle Gaston, Carol de Delley and J. Paul Fedoroff made statements and answered questions.


At 4:36 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:38 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Kim Pate, Paul Burstein, Erin Dann, David M. Parry and Terry Hancock made statements and answered questions.


At 5:36 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:40 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Chris Summerville, Catherine Latimer and Lori Triano-Antidormi made statements and answered questions.


At 6:39 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2013/07/18 9:42 a.m.