Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 39
Tuesday, May 29, 2012

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 11:46 a.m. this day, in Room 306, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Dave MacKenzie, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Françoise Boivin, Raymond Côté, Hon. Irwin Cotler, Kerry-Lynne D. Findlay, Robert Goguen, Pierre Jacob, Brian Jean, Dave MacKenzie, Craig Scott and Kyle Seeback.


Acting Members present: David Anderson for Stephen Woodworth, Roxanne James for Brent Rathgeber, Jeff Watson for Stephen Woodworth and David Wilks for Brian Jean.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Dominique Valiquet, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Civil Liberties Association: Michael Spratt, Lawyer.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, February 29, 2012, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-299, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (kidnapping of young person).

The witness made a statement and answered questions.


At 12:37 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:41 p.m., the sitting resumed.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That in relation to the study of Bill C-299, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (kidnapping of young person), the proposed budget in the amount of $2,600, be adopted.


At 12:42 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:42 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.


At 12:45 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2012/05/31 9:56 a.m.