Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 31
Tuesday, April 24, 2012

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 11:04 a.m. this day, in Room 306, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Dave MacKenzie, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Françoise Boivin, Hon. Irwin Cotler, Robert Goguen, Pierre Jacob, Brian Jean, Dave MacKenzie, Brent Rathgeber, Jasbir Sandhu, Craig Scott, Kyle Seeback and Stephen Woodworth.


Acting Members present: Dan Albas for Kerry-Lynne D. Findlay, Kellie Leitch for Kerry-Lynne D. Findlay, Lise St-Denis for Hon. Irwin Cotler, Jonathan Tremblay for Françoise Boivin and Susan Truppe for Kerry-Lynne D. Findlay.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Dominique Valiquet, Analyst; Julian Walker, Analyst.


Witnesses: Brian Storseth, M.P., Westlock—St. Paul; Amee Pundick, Constituency Communication Officer, Office of Brian Storseth. Canadian Bar Association: Mark Toews, Member; Judy Hunter, Staff Lawyer, Legislation and Law Reform. As individuals: Mark Freiman, Past President, Canadian Jewish Congress, President, Canadian Peres Center for Peace Foundation; Kathleen Mahoney, Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, Barrister and Solicitor, Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Calgary.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, February 15, 2012, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-304, An Act to amend the Canadian Human Rights Act (protecting freedom).

Brian Storseth made a statement and answered questions.


At 12:00 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:09 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Mark Toews, Judy Hunter, Mark Freiman and Kathleen Mahoney, by videoconference from Calgary, Alberta, made statements and answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.
Pursuant to Standing Order 106(2), the Committee proceeded to the election of a Vice-Chair.

On motion of Robert Goguen, it was agreed, — That Françoise Boivin be elected First Vice-Chair of the Committee.


At 1:03 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2012/05/11 11:20 a.m.