Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 1
Tuesday, June 21, 2011

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 8:52 a.m. this day, in Room 228, La Promenade Building, for the purpose of electing a Chair, pursuant to Standing Order 106(1).


Members of the Committee present: Charmaine Borg, Joe Comartin, Kerry-Lynne D. Findlay, Robert Goguen, Brian Jean, Dave MacKenzie, Brent Rathgeber, Kyle Seeback, Kennedy Stewart and Stephen Woodworth.


Acting Members present: Ted Hsu for Hon. Irwin Cotler.


Other Members present: Elizabeth May.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Lyne Casavant, Analyst; Julia Nicol, Analyst. House of Commons: Alexandre Roger, Procedural Clerk.

The Clerk of the Committee presided over the election of a Chair.

On motion of Brian Jean, it was agreed, — That Dave Mackenzie be elected Chair of the Committee.


By unanimous consent, the Clerk of the Committee presided over the election of the Vice-Chairs.


On motion of Brian Jean, it was agreed, — That Joe Comartin be elected First Vice-Chair of the Committee.


On motion of Ted Hsu, it was agreed, — That the Hon. Irwin Cotler be elected Second Vice-Chair of the Committee.


Dave Mackenzie took the Chair.

By unanimous consent, the Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the Committee retain, as needed and at the discretion of the Chair, the services of one or more analysts from the Library of Parliament to assist it in its work.


It was agreed, — That the Subcommittee on agenda and procedure be composed of five members, including the chair, the two vice-chairs and both parliamentary secretaries and that the quorum of the Subcommittee shall consist of at least three members, including one member of the opposition.


It was agreed, — That the Chair be authorized to hold meetings to receive evidence and to have that evidence printed when a quorum is not present, provided that at least three (3) members are present, including one member of the opposition.


It was agreed, — That only the Clerk of the Committee be authorized to distribute documents to members of the Committee and only when such documents exist in both official languages.


It was agreed, — That the Clerk of the Committee be authorized to make the necessary arrangements to provide working meals for the Committee and its Subcommittees.


It was agreed, — That, if requested, reasonable travel, accommodation and living expenses be reimbursed to witnesses not exceeding two (2) representatives per organization; and that, in exceptional circumstances, payment for more representatives be made at the discretion of the Chair.


It was agreed, — That, unless otherwise ordered, each Committee member in attendance be allowed to have one (1) staff member attend in camera meetings. In addition, each party be allowed to have one (1) staff member from its Whip or House Leader’s Office attend in camera meetings.


It was agreed, — That one (1) copy of the transcript of each in camera meeting be kept in the Committee Clerk’s office for consultation by members of the Committee.


It was agreed, — That when a Private Members’ Bill is referred to the Committee, it be placed on the Agenda and that its sponsor be invited to appear before the Committee.


It was agreed, — That forty-eight hours (48) notice be required for any substantive motion to be considered by the Committee, unless the substantive motion relates directly to business then under consideration; and that the notice of motion be filed with the Clerk of the Committee and distributed to members in both official languages; and that completed motions received by the Clerk of the Committee by 5:00 p.m. be distributed to the members the same day.


It was agreed, — That the witnesses from any organization shall be allowed up to 10 minutes for their opening statement; during the questioning of witnesses, there be allocated five minutes for the first round of questioning; and thereafter five minutes be allocated to each questioner in the second and subsequent rounds of questioning. The order of questions for the first round of questioning shall be as follows: NDP, Conservative, Liberal, Conservative. Questioning during the second round shall alternate between the government members and opposition members in the following fashion: NDP, Conservative, NDP, Conservative, NDP, Conservative, Conservative, based on the principle that each committee member should have a full opportunity to question the witnesses; and if time permits, further rounds shall repeat the pattern of the first two at the discretion of the chair.


At 9:15 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2012/02/03 11:27 a.m.