Skip to main content
Start of content

INDU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 62
Tuesday, March 26, 2013

The Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology met at 3:29 p.m. this day, in Room 8-53, 131 Queen Street, the Chair, David Sweet, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Peter Braid, John Carmichael, Cheryl Gallant, Dan Harris, Hélène LeBlanc, Phil McColeman, Kennedy Stewart, David Sweet, Glenn Thibeault and Mark Warawa.


Acting Members present: Rob Anders for Mark Warawa, Hon. Ron Cannan for Hon. Mike Lake, Hon. Wayne Easter for Hon. Geoff Regan, Pierre Nantel for Hélène LeBlanc, Ted Opitz for Phil McColeman and Joe Preston for Cheryl Gallant.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mathieu Frigon, Analyst; Dillan Theckedath, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association: Bernard Lord, President and Chief Executive Officer; Devon Jacobs, Senior Director, Government Affairs. Xplornet Communications Inc.: Allison Lenehan, President; C.J. Prudham, Executive Vice-President, General Counsel. Communitech: Avvey Peters, Vice-President, External Relations. As an individual: Catherine Middleton, Professor, Ryerson University.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 26, 2013, the Committee resumed its study of Broadband and Internet access across Canada.

On motion of Peter Braid, it was agreed, — That, in relation to the study of Broadband and Internet access across Canada, the proposed budget in the amount of $3,900.00 be adopted.


Bernard Lord, Allison Lenehan, Avvey Peters, and Catherine Middleton, by videoconference from Melbourne, Australia, made statements and, with C.J. Prudham and Devon Jacobs, answered questions.


At 5:20 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean Michel Roy
Clerk of the Committee

2013/03/27 9:36 a.m.