Skip to main content Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 37
Thursday, March 29, 2012

The Standing Committee on Health met at 8:47 a.m. this day, in Room C-120, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, Joy Smith, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Kelly Block, Patrick Brown, Colin Carrie, Libby Davies, Parm Gill, Wladyslaw Lizon, Dany Morin, Anne Minh-Thu Quach, Djaouida Sellah, Joy Smith and Mark Strahl.


Acting Members present: Ted Hsu for Hon. Hedy Fry.


Associate Members present: Kellie Leitch.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Raphaelle Deraspe, Analyst; Sonya Norris, Analyst.


Witnesses: Best Medicines Coalition: Gail Attara, Chair of Operations Committee, President and Chief Executive Officer, Gastrointestinal Society; Suzanne Nurse, Representative. Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society: Richard Chisholm, President. Canadian Medical Association: John Haggie, President. Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists: Myrella Roy, Executive Director. Ordre des pharmaciens du Québec: Diane Lamarre, President; Manon Lambert, Director General and Secretary.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, March 13, 2012, the Committee resumed its study of the role of government and industry in determining drug supply in Canada.

Richard Chisholm, by videoconference from Buenos Aires, Argentina, John Haggie, Gail Attara, Suzanne Nurse, Diane Lamarre and Myrella Roy made statements and answered questions.


At 10:44 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Mariane Beaudin
Clerk of the Committee

2012/03/29 12:50 p.m.