Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 92
Monday, November 19, 2012

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Scott Brison, Guy Caron, Shelly Glover, Randy Hoback, Brian Jean, Hoang Mai, Wayne Marston, Cathy McLeod, Peggy Nash, James Rajotte and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: John Carmichael for Mark Adler, Cheryl Gallant for Brian Jean, Ed Komarnicki for Shelly Glover and Joe Preston for Mark Adler.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Daniel Benatuil, Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst. House of Commons: Michelle Tittley, Procedural Clerk.


Witnesses: Building and Construction Trades Department, AFL-CIO: Christopher Smillie, Senior Advisor, Government Relations and Public Affairs. Canadian Bureau for International Education: Scott McAlpine, Board Member, President, Douglas College. Canadian Psychological Association: Karen Cohen, Chief Executive Officer. Council of Ontario Universities: Steven Liss, Vice-Principal of Research, Queen's University. Grain Growers of Canada: Richard Phillips, Executive Director. Nature Conservancy of Canada: John Lounds, President and Chief Executive Officer. Boys and Girls Clubs of Canada: Rachel Gouin, Manager, Research and Public Policy. Canadian Climate Forum: Gordon McBean, Chairman, Board of Directors. Canadian Institute for Military and Veteran Health Research: Alice Aiken, Director. Canadian Restaurant and Foodservices Association: Joyce Reynolds, Executive Vice-President, Government Affairs. Retail Council of Canada: Diane J. Brisebois, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2012.

Christopher Smillie, Scott McAlpine, Karen Cohen, Steven Liss, Richard Phillips and John Lounds made statements and answered questions.


At 5:00 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:06 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Rachel Gouin, Gordon McBean, Alice Aiken, Joyce Reynolds and Diane J. Brisebois made statements and answered questions.


At 6:30 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Suzie Cadieux, Jean-François Lafleur
Clerks of the Committee

2012/11/21 2:41 p.m.