Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 87
Thursday, November 1, 2012

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Guy Caron, Shelly Glover, Randy Hoback, Brian Jean, Hoang Mai, Peggy Nash, James Rajotte and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Rodger Cuzner for Hon. Scott Brison, Dan Harris for Wayne Marston and Kevin Sorenson for Cathy McLeod.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst. House of Commons: Suzie Cadieux, Procedural Clerk.


Witnesses: Department of Finance: Ted Cook, Senior Legislative Chief, Tax Legislation Division, Tax Policy Branch; Shawn Porter, Director, Tax Legislation; Annie Carrier, Principal Manager, Aboriginal Tax Policy Section; Geoff Trueman, Director, Business Income Tax Division, Tax Policy Branch; Pierre Mercille, Senior Legislative Chief, Sales Tax Division, GST Legislation, Tax Policy Branch; Kei Moray, Director, Intergovernmental Tax Policy, Evaluation and Research Division, Tax Policy Branch; Deanne Field, Chief, Federal-Provincial Taxation Section, Tax Policy Branch; Annie Hardy, Chief, Financial Institutions Division, Structural Issues, Financial Sector Policy Branch; Wayne Foster, Director, Financial Markets Division; Jean-François Girard, Senior Project Leader, Financial Sector Policy Branch; David Smith, Senior Project Leader, Capital Markets Policy; Glenn Purves, Chief, International Economic Analysis; Mausumi Banerjee, Senior Policy Analyst, Social Policy, Income Security ; Tamara Miller, Chief, Labour Markets, Employment and Learning; Ian Pomroy, Senior Tax Policy Officer, Social Tax Policy, Personal Income Tax Division; Jane Pearse, Director, Financial Institutions Division, Financial Sector Policy Branch; Lalith Kottachchi, Senior Tax Policy Officer, Tax Policy Branch, Sales Tax Division. Treasury Board Secretariat: Joan Arnold, Senior Director, Pensions and Benefits Sector. Canada Revenue Agency: Ray Cuthbert, Director, CPP/EI Rulings Division; Denyse Bertrand, Senior Policy Analyst, Regulations, Remissions and Delegations Section. Department of Human Resources and Skills Development: Dominique LaSalle, Director General, Seniors and Pensions Policy Secretariat; Marianna Giordano, Director, CPP Policy and Legislation; Cassandra Iwankow, Director, Policy; Mireille Laroche, Director General, Employment Insurance Policy; Pierre Meunier, Manager, Policy. Department of Industry: Krista Campbell, Director General, Strategic Policy Branch; Catherine Foskett, Director, Strategic Issues, Tourism Branch; Prue Thomson, Senior Policy Analyst, Internal Trade. Treasury Board Secretariat: Bayla Kolk, Assistant Deputy Minister, Pensions and Benefits Sector; Kathleen Kelly, Executive Director, Pension Policy and Program; Kim Gowing, Director, Pensions and Benefits Sector; Carl Trottier, Executive Director, Compensation and Labour Relations.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, October 30, 2012, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-45, A second Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 29, 2012 and other measures.

Ted Cook made a statement and, with Goeff Trueman and Shawn Porter, answered questions.


Pierre Mercille answered questions.


Kei Moray made a statement and answered questions.


Annie Hardy made a statement and, with Jane Pearse, answered questions.


Jean-François Girard and Wayne Foster made statements and answered questions.


Dominique LaSalle made a statement and, with Marianna Giordano, answered questions.


Krista Campbell made a statement and answered questions.


At 5:24 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Michelle Tittley
Committee Clerk

2012/11/06 11:33 a.m.