Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 82
Wednesday, October 24, 2012

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:40 p.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Guy Caron, Randy Hoback, Brian Jean, Hoang Mai, Wayne Marston, Cathy McLeod, James Rajotte and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Dan Albas for Shelly Glover, Robert Chisholm for Peggy Nash, Alain Giguère for Wayne Marston and David J. McGuinty for Hon. Scott Brison.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Daniel Benatuil, Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Alliance of Student Associations: Zachary Dayler, National Director. Canadian Association of Oilwell Drilling Contractors: Mark A. Scholz, President; Doug Strong. Investment Industry Association of Canada: Barbara Amsden, Director. Portfolio Management Association of Canada: Katie Walmsley, President. Rideau Institute: Steven Staples, President. Canadian Association of Social Workers: Fred Phelps, Executive Director. Canadian Renewable Fuels Association: W. Scott Thurlow, President. Greater Kitchener Waterloo Chamber of Commerce: Art Sinclair, Vice-President. Calgary Chamber of Commerce: Ben Brunnen, Director, Policy and Government Affairs and Chief Economist. Small Explorers and Producers Association of Canada: Gary C. Leach, Executive Director.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2012.

Zachary Dayler, Mark A. Scholz, Barbara Amsden, Katie Walmsley and Steven Staples made statements and, with Doug Strong, answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

On motion of Randy Hoback, it was agreed, — That in relation to the study of pre-budget consultations 2012, the proposed budget in the amount of $232,200 be adopted and that the Chair present the said budget to the Subcommittee on Committee Budgets of the Liaison Committee.


On motion of Brian Jean, it was agreed, — That in relation to the study of Bill C-377, An Act to amend the Income Tax Act (requirements for labour organizations), the proposed budget in the amount of $7,600 be adopted.


At 5:04 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:09 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2012.

Fred Phelps, W. Scott Thurlow, Art Sinclair, Ben Brunnen and Gary C. Leach by videoconference from Calgary, Alberta, made statements and answered questions.


At 6:36 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Lafleur, Suzie Cadieux
Clerks of the Committee

2012/10/25 11:55 a.m.