Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 81
Tuesday, October 23, 2012

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:33 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Hon. Scott Brison, Guy Caron, Shelly Glover, Randy Hoback, Brian Jean, Hoang Mai, Wayne Marston, Cathy McLeod, Peggy Nash, James Rajotte and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Paul Calandra for Brian Jean and Massimo Pacetti for Hon. Scott Brison.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Daniel Benatuil, Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst.


Witnesses: Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists: Barry Blake, National Councillor, Actor. Canadian Association of Retired Persons: Susan Eng, Vice-President, Advocacy. Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants: Gabe Hayos, Vice-President, Taxation. Chemistry Industry Association of Canada: Richard Paton, President and Chief Executive Officer. Engineers Canada: Kim Allen, Chief Executive Officer. Kamloops Homelessness Action Plan: Tangie Genshorek, Coordinator. Canadian Chamber of Commerce: Warren Everson, Senior Vice-President, Policy. Canadian Federation of Students: Adam Awad, National Chairperson. Fédération des communautés francophones et acadienne du Canada: Marie-France Kenny, President. Mining Association of Canada: Pierre Gratton, President and Chief Executive Officer; Brendan Marshall. Petroleum Services Association of Canada: Elizabeth Aquin, Senior Vice-President; Kathy Marasco.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2012.

Barry Blake, Susan Eng, Gabe Hayos, Richard Paton, Kim Allen and Tangie Genshorek made statements and answered questions.


At 5:00 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:03 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Warren Everson, Adam Awad, Marie-France Kenny, Pierre Gratton and Elizabeth Aquin made statements and answered questions.


At 5:22 p.m., Peggy Nash took the Chair.


At 5:30 p.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.


At 5:38 p.m., James Rajotte took the Chair.


At 5:48 p.m., pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), the sitting was suspended.

At 6:32 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Questioning of the witnesses resumed.


At 6:58 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Lafleur, Suzie Cadieux
Clerks of the Committee

2012/10/25 11:54 a.m.