Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 80
Monday, October 22, 2012

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Hon. Scott Brison, Guy Caron, Shelly Glover, Randy Hoback, Brian Jean, Hoang Mai, Wayne Marston, Cathy McLeod, Peggy Nash, James Rajotte and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Robert Chisholm for Peggy Nash.


Associate Members present: Michelle Rempel.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Daniel Benatuil, Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers: David Collyer, President. Canadian Doctors for Medicare: Danyaal Raza, Board Member. Public Service Alliance of Canada: Chris Aylward, National Executive Vice-President. Regroupement des jeunes chambres de commerce du Québec: Guillaum Dubreuil, Vice-President. Société de transport de Montréal: Bernard Blanchet, Board Member, City Councillor, Lachine Borough, Montréal. University of Saskatchewan: Ilene Busch-Vishniac, President and Vice-Chancellor. Alberta Chambers of Commerce: Brad Severin, Chair Elect. Canadian Convenience Stores Association: Alex Scholten, President. Canadian Federation of Nurses Unions: Pamela Foster, Policy Advisor. Canadian Steel Producers Association: Ron Watkins, President. Canadian Union of Public Employees: Toby Sanger, Senior Economist. McGill University: Rose Goldstein, Vice-Principal, Research and International Relations.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2012.

David Collyer, Dr. Danyaal Raza, Chris Aylward, Guillaum Dubreuil, Bernard Blanchet and Ilene Busch-Vishniac made statements and answered questions.


At 5:05 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:10 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Brad Severin, Alex Scholten, Pamela Foster, Ron Watkins, Toby Sanger and Rose Goldstein made statements and answered questions.


At 6:38 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Lafleur, Suzie Cadieux
Clerks of the Committee

2012/10/24 8:30 a.m.