Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 79
Thursday, October 18, 2012

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:37 p.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Hon. Scott Brison, Guy Caron, Brian Jean, Hoang Mai, Wayne Marston, Cathy McLeod, Peggy Nash, James Rajotte and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Hon. Mark Eyking for Hon. Scott Brison.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst; Daniel Benatuil, Analyst.


Witnesses: Association of Canadian Community Colleges: James Knight, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Association of Community Health Centres: Scott Wolfe, Federal Coordinator; Simone Thibault. Financial Executives International Canada: Michael Conway, Chief Executive and National President; Peter Effer. Council of Canadians with Disabilities: Tony Dolan, National Chairperson. Canadian Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences: Graham Carr, President. Canadian Gas Association: Timothy M. Egan, President and Chief Executive Officer. Credit Union Central of Canada: Gary Rogers, Vice-President, Financial Policy. Edmonton Chamber of Commerce: Robin Bobocel, Vice-President, Public Affairs. Sport Manitoba Inc.: Jeff Hnatiuk, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2012.

James Knight, Scott Wolfe, Simone Thibault, Michael Conway, and Tony Dolan made statements and, with Peter Effer, answered questions.


At 5:02 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:07 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Graham Carr, Timothy M. Egan, Gary Rogers, Robin Bobocel and Jeff Hnatiuk made statements and answered questions.


At 6:31 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Lafleur, Suzie Cadieux
Clerks of the Committee

2012/10/22 8:58 a.m.