Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 72
Monday, September 24, 2012

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 3:27 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, for the purpose of electing a Chair, pursuant to Standing Order 106(1)


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Hon. Scott Brison, Guy Caron, Shelly Glover, Randy Hoback, Brian Jean, Hoang Mai, Cathy McLeod, Peggy Nash, James Rajotte and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Glenn Thibeault for Wayne Marston.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Daniel Benatuil, Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. Ted Menzies, Minister of State (Finance).


Witnesses: Financial Consumer Agency of Canada: Ursula Menke, Commissioner. Department of Finance: Jeremy Rudin, Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Sector Policy Branch; Eleanor Ryan, Senior Chief, Strategic Planning and Trade.

Pursuant to Standing Order 106(2), the Clerk of the Committee presided over the election of a Chair.

On motion of Brian Jean, it was agreed, — That James Rajotte be elected Chair of the Committee .

By unanimous consent, the Clerk of the Committee proceeded to the election of the Vice-Chairs.

On motion of Guy Caron, it was agreed, — That Peggy Nash be elected First Vice-Chair of the Committee.


On motion of Hoang Mai, it was agreed, — That Scott Brison be elected Second Vice-Chair of the Committee.


James Rajotte took the Chair.


At 3:36 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:40 p.m., the sitting resumed in a televised session

By unanimous consent and pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, June 20, 2012, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-28, An Act to amend the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada Act.

The Hon. Ted Menzies made a statement and, with Ursula Menke, answered questions.


At 4:31 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:34 p.m., the sitting resumed.


The witnesses answered questions.


At 5:14 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Lafleur, Suzie Cadieux
Clerks of the Committee

2012/09/27 3:05 p.m.