Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 67
Thursday, May 31, 2012

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:39 p.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Scott Brison, Guy Caron, Shelly Glover, Randy Hoback, Brian Jean, Hoang Mai, Wayne Marston, Cathy McLeod, Peggy Nash, James Rajotte and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Ray Boughen for Mark Adler, Dean Del Mastro for Mark Adler and Pierre Nantel for Guy Caron.


Associate Members present: Kellie Leitch.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst. House of Commons: Michelle Tittley, Procedural Clerk.


Witnesses: As an individual: Aurel Braun, Professor, University of Toronto. Canada Without Poverty: Rob Rainer, Executive Director. Canadian Association of University Teachers: James L. Turk, Executive Director. Canadian Medical Association: Jeffrey Turnbull, Past-President. As individuals: Michael Jackson, Professor, Faculty of Law, University of British Columbia; Alain Noël, Full Professor, Department of Political Science, Université de Montréal. Canadian Conference of the Arts: Alain Pineau, National Director. Canadian Federation of Nurses Unions: Linda Silas, President. Canadian Media Guild: Karen Wirsig, Communication Policy. Canadian Museums Association: John McAvity, Executive Director. Council of Canadians: Anil Naidoo, Project Organizer.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, May 14, 2012, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-38, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 29, 2012 and other measures.

Aurel Braun, Rob Rainer, James L. Turk, Jeffrey Turnbull and Michael Jackson, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, made statements and answered questions.


At 5:08 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:13 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Alain Noël, Alain Pineau, Karen Wirsig, John McAvity, Anil Naidoo, and Linda Silas made statements and answered questions.


At 6:52 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Guyanne L. Desforges
Clerk of the Committee

2012/07/20 8:19 a.m.