Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 66
Thursday, May 31, 2012

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:30 a.m. this day, in Room C-120, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Hon. Scott Brison, Guy Caron, Shelly Glover, Randy Hoback, Brian Jean, Hoang Mai, Wayne Marston, Cathy McLeod, Peggy Nash, James Rajotte and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Susan Truppe for Randy Hoback and Jeff Watson for Brian Jean.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst; Brett Stuckey, Analyst. House of Commons: Suzie Cadieux, Procedural Clerk.


Witnesses: As individuals: Patrick Grady, Economist, Global Economics Ltd.; Richard Kurland, Policy Analyst and Attorney; Ian Lee, Professor, Sprott School of Business, University Carleton; Lorne Waldman. Canadian Federation of Students: Roxanne Dubois, National Chairperson. Oxfam Canada: Mark Fried, Policy Coordinator. Canadian Auto Workers Union: Jim Stanford, Economist. Retail Council of Canada: Diane J. Brisebois, President and Chief Executive Officer; Karen Proud, Vice-President, Federal Government Relations. As an individual: Marjorie Griffin Cohen, Professor, Simon Fraser University. Campaign 2000: Laurel Rothman, National Coordinator.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, May 14, 2012, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-38, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 29, 2012 and other measures.

Patrick Grady, Richard Kurland, Iam Lee, Lorne Waldman, Roxanne Dubois, and Mark Fried made statements and answered questions.


At 11:01 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:07 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Jim Stanford, Diane J. Brisebois, Marjorie Griffin Cohen, by videoconference from Burnaby, British Columbia, and Laurel Rothman, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, made statements and answered questions.


At 12:31 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Guyanne L. Desforges
Clerk of the Committee

2012/07/20 8:20 a.m.