Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 65
Wednesday, May 30, 2012

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 6:26 p.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Guy Caron, Shelly Glover, Randy Hoback, Brian Jean, Hoang Mai, Wayne Marston, Cathy McLeod, Peggy Nash, James Rajotte and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Hélène LeBlanc for Wayne Marston and Scott Simms for Hon. Scott Brison.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Brett Stuckey, Analyst. House of Commons: Michelle Tittley, Procedural Clerk.


Witnesses: BCE Inc. and Bell Canada: Mirko Bibic, Executive Vice-President, Chief Legal and Regulatory Officer. Communications, Energy and Paperworkers Union of Canada: David Coles, President. Mobilicity: Gary Wong, Director, Legal Affairs, Data and Audio-Visual Enterprises Wireless Inc.. Public Mobile: Bruce Kirby, Vice-President, Strategy and Business Development. WIND Mobile: Simon Lockie, Chief Regulatory Officer. As an individual: Len Zedel, Professor, Memorial University of Newfoundland. Agriculture Union: Bob Kingston, National President. C.D. Howe Institute: Philippe Bergevin, Senior Policy Analyst. Consumer Health Products Canada: David Skinner, President. Canada Organic Trade Association: Matthew Holmes, Executive Director. Nalcor Energy: Richard Wright, Manager, Exploration, Oil and Gas. As an individual: Richard Steiner, Professor, University of Alaska, Conservation and Sustainability Consultant, Oasis Earth Project. United Steelworkers: Erin Weir, Economist.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, May 14, 2012, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-38, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 29, 2012 and other measures.

Mirko Bibic, David Coles, Gary Wong, Brice Kirby and Simon Lockie made statements and answered questions.


At 7:48 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:53 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Len Zedel, Bob Kingston, Philippe Bergevin, David Skinner, Mathew Holmes, Richard Wright, Richard Steiner, by videoconference from Anchorage, Alaska, and Erin Weir, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, made statements and answered questions.


At 8:39 p.m., Peggy Nash took the Chair.


At 8:54 p.m., James Rajotte took the Chair.


Questioning of the witnesses resumed.


At 9:41 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Committee Clerk

2012/06/07 11:56 a.m.