Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 64
Tuesday, May 29, 2012

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 5:04 p.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Hon. Scott Brison, Guy Caron, Shelly Glover, Randy Hoback, Brian Jean, Hoang Mai, Wayne Marston, Cathy McLeod, Peggy Nash, James Rajotte and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Lysane Blanchette-Lamothe for Hoang Mai and Randall Garrison for Wayne Marston.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Brett Stuckey, Analyst. House of Commons: Alexandre Roger, Procedural Clerk.


Witnesses: Canadian Labour Congress: Andrew Jackson, Chief Economist. Conseil national des chômeurs et chômeuses: Pierre Céré, Spokesperson. Macdonald-Laurier Institute: Jason Clemens, Director of Research. PPP Canada Inc.: Greg Smith, Vice-President, Finance, Risk Administration and Chief Financial Officer. As individuals: Paul Kennedy; Jane Londerville, Associate Professor, University of Guelph. Department of Justice: Michael Zigayer, Senior Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section. Public Safety Canada: Stephen Bolton, Director, Border Law Enforcement Strategies Division. Royal Canadian Mounted Police: Joe Oliver, Director General, Border Integrity. Windsor Police Service: Jerome Brannagan, Deputy Chief, Operations.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, May 14, 2012, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-38, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 29, 2012 and other measures.

Andrew Jackson, Pierre Céré, Jason Clemens and Greg Smith made statements and answered questions.


At 6:31 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:35 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Paul Kennedy, Jane Londerville and Jerome Brannagan made statements and, with Stephen Bolton, Michael Zigayer and Joe Oliver, answered questions.


At 7:10 p.m., Peggy Nash took the Chair.


At 7:24 p.m., James Rajotte took the Chair.


Questioning of the witnesses resumed.


At 8:06 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Guyanne L. Desforges
Clerk of the Committee

2012/09/28 2:44 p.m.