Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 42
Tuesday, February 14, 2012

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Hon. Scott Brison, Alain Giguère, Shelly Glover, Randy Hoback, Brian Jean, Peter Julian, Hoang Mai, Cathy McLeod, James Rajotte and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Kelly Block for Mark Adler, Jinny Jogindera Sims for Robert Chisholm and Mike Wallace for Dave Van Kesteren.


Other Members present: Elizabeth May.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst; Brett Stuckey, Analyst.


Witnesses: Big Brothers Big Sisters of Canada: Bruce MacDonald, President, Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Council of Christian Charities: Barry Bussey, Vice President, Legal Affairs. Cardus: Michael Van Pelt, President. Community Foundations of Canada: Ian Bird, President, Chief Executive Officer. David Suzuki Foundation: Peter Robinson, Chief Executive Officer. Evangelical Fellowship of Canada: Don Hutchinson, Vice President and General Legal Counsel, Centre for Faith and Public Life.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, September 20, 2011, the Committee resumed its study of tax incentives for charitable donations.

Bruce MacDonald, Barry Bussey, Michael Van Pelt, Ian Bird, Peter Robinson and Don Hutchinson made statements and answered questions.


At 5:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Guyanne L. Desforges
Clerk of the Committee

2012/02/15 8:22 a.m.