Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 116
Thursday, April 25, 2013

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 8:44 a.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Hon. Scott Brison, Guy Caron, Raymond Côté, Shelly Glover, Randy Hoback, Brian Jean, Cathy McLeod, Peggy Nash, James Rajotte, Murray Rankin and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Cheryl Gallant for Cathy McLeod.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: James Gauthier, Analyst; Michaël Lambert-Racine, Analyst.


Witnesses: As individuals: Robin Boadway, Professor, Department of Economics, Queen's University; Miles Corak, Professor, Graduate School of Public and International Affairs, University of Ottawa; Ian Lee, Professor, Carleton University. Canada West Foundation: Michael Holden, Senior Economist. Canadian Medical Association: Anna Reid, President. Conference Board of Canada: Daniel Muzyka, President and Chief Executive Officer; Brenda Lafleur, Program Director. Frontier Centre for Public Policy: Benjamin Eisen, Assistant Research Director and Senior Policy Analyst. As an individual: Richard Wilkinson, Emeritus Professor, Social Epidemiology, University of Nottingham.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, June 13, 2012, the Committee resumed its study of Income Inequality in Canada.

Robin Boadway, Miles Corak, Ian Lee, Michael Holden, Anna Reid, Daniel Muzyka, Benjamin Eisen and Richard Wilkinson, by videoconference from York, United Kingdom, made statements and, with Brenda Lafleur, answered questions.


At 10:50 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee

2013/04/26 12:58 p.m.