Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 1
Wednesday, June 15, 2011

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 5:36 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, for the purpose of electing a Chair, pursuant to Standing Order 106(1).


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Alain Giguère, Shelly Glover, Randy Hoback, Brian Jean, Hoang Mai, Wayne Marston, Cathy McLeod, Peggy Nash, James Rajotte and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Hon. Judy Sgro for Hon. Scott Brison.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst; Brett Stuckey, Analyst. House of Commons: Mariane Beaudin, Procedural Clerk.

The Clerk of the Committee presided over the election of a Chair.

On motion of Cathy McLeod, it was agreed, — That James Rajotte be elected Chair of the Committee.

By unanimous consent, the Clerk of the Committee proceeded to the election of Vice-Chairs.

On motion of Peggy Nash, it was agreed, — That Hoang Mai be elected First Vice-Chair of the Committee.


On motion of Judy Sgro, it was agreed, — That Hon. Scott Brison be elected Second Vice-Chair in absentia of the Committee.


James Rajotte took the Chair.

By unanimous consent, the Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the Committee retain the services of one or more analysts from the Library of Parliament, as needed, to assist the Committee in its work, at the discretion of the Chair.


It was agreed, — That the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure be composed of the Chair, two Vice-Chairs and the two Parliamentary Secretaries.


It was agreed, — That the Chair be authorized to hold meetings to receive and publish evidence when a quorum is not present, provided that at least three (3) members are present provided that one (1) is from government and one (1) is from opposition.


It was agreed, — That only the Clerk of the Committee be authorized to distribute to the members of the Committee documents and only when they exist in both official languages and that witnesses be advised accordingly. That the Clerk notify all witnesses of this requirement in advance.


It was agreed, — That the Clerk of the Committee be authorized to make the necessary arrangements to provide for working meals for the Committee and its subcommittees.


It was agreed, — That, if requested, reasonable travel, accommodation and living expenses be reimbursed to witnesses not exceeding two (2) representatives per organization; and that, in exceptional circumstances, payment for more representatives be at the discretion of the Chair.


It was agreed, — That, unless otherwise ordered, each Committee member in attendance be allowed to have one (1) staff member attend in camera meetings. In addition, each party be allowed to have one (1) staff member from its Whip or House Leader’s Office attend in camera meetings.


It was agreed, — That one copy of the transcript of each in camera meeting be kept in the Committee Clerk’s office for consultation by members of the Committee.


It was agreed, — That forty-eight hours (48) notice be required for any substantive motion to be considered by the Committee, unless the substantive motion relates directly to business then under consideration; and that the notice of motion be filed with the Clerk of the Committee and distributed to members in both official languages; and

that motions received by the Clerk of the Committee by 4:00 p.m. from Monday to Thursday and 2:00 p.m. on Friday be distributed to the members the same day.


It was agreed, — That witnesses be given five (5) to ten (10) minutes at the discretion of the Chair to make their opening statement. That a Minister be given fifteen (15) minutes for opening remarks. And; that the order of questioners be as follows:

1st round (5 minutes)
1. New Democratic Party
2. Conservative
3. Liberal
4. Conservative

2nd round (5 minutes)
5. New Democratic Party
6. Conservative
7. New Democratic Party
8. Conservative

3rd round (5 minutes)
9. New Democratic Party
10. Conservative
11. Conservative.


At 6:23 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Guyanne L. Desforges
Clerk of the Committee

2011/06/28 2:22 p.m.