Skip to main content Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 51
Thursday, October 25, 2012

The Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development met at 8:46 a.m. this day, in Room 306, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Dean Allison, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dean Allison, Lois Brown, Bob Dechert, Paul Dewar, Nina Grewal, Gary Ralph Schellenberger and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Libby Davies for Ève Péclet, Pierre-Luc Dusseault for Ève Péclet, Peter Julian for Hélène Laverdière, Isabelle Morin for Romeo Saganash, François Pilon for Hélène Laverdière, Francis Scarpaleggia for Hon. Dominic LeBlanc and David Tilson for John Williamson.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: James Lee, Analyst; Penny Becklumb, Analyst.


Witnesses: House of Commons: Larry Miller, Bruce—Grey—Owen Sound. University of Calgary: J. Owen Saunders, Senior Fellow and Adjunct Professor, Canadian Institute of Ressources Law. University of Toronto, Munk School of Global Affairs: Adèle Hurley, Director, Program on Water Issues. As an individual: Steven Renzetti, Professor, Brock University.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, October 3, 2012, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-383, An Act to amend the International Boundary Waters Treaty Act and the International River Improvements Act.

Pursuant to Standing Order 75(1), consideration of Clause 1 was postponed.

The Chair called Clause 2.


Larry Miller made a statement and answered questions.


At 9:42 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:47 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Adèle Hurley, J. Owen Saunders and Steve Renzetti each made statements and answered questions.


At 10:41 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2012/10/29 10:57 a.m.