Skip to main content Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 41
Monday, June 11, 2012

The Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development met at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 306, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Dean Allison, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dean Allison, Lois Brown, Bob Dechert, Paul Dewar, Nina Grewal, Hélène Laverdière, Hon. Dominic LeBlanc, Ève Péclet, Romeo Saganash, Dave Van Kesteren and John Williamson.


Acting Members present: Garry Breitkreuz for Gary Ralph Schellenberger.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: James Lee, Analyst; Allison Goody, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade: Paul Galveias, Senior Export Control Officer, Export Controls Division; Habib Massoud, Deputy Director, Non-Proliferation and Disarmament Division. Control Arms Coalition: Kenneth Epps, Member, Senior Program Officer, Project Ploughshares; Lina Holguin, Member, Policy Director, Oxfam-Québec; Hilary Homes, Member, Campaigner, International Justice, Security and Human Rights, Amnesty International; Mark Fried, Member, Policy Coordinator, Oxfam Canada. As an individual: Solomon Friedman, Lawyer. Canadian Shooting Sports Association: Tony Bernardo, Executive Director; Steve Torino, President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Monday, April 23, 2012, the Committee commenced its study of Canada and the United Nations Arms Trade Treaty Negotiations.

Habib Massoud made a statement and, with Paul Galveias, answered questions.


At 4:15 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:24 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Lina Holguin, Kenneth Epps, Mark Fried, Hilary Homes, Steve Torino, Tony Bernardo and Solomon Friedman made statements and answered questions.


At 5:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2012/06/15 8:56 a.m.