Skip to main content Start of content

ETHI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 8
Tuesday, October 18, 2011

The Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics met in a televised session at 8:49 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Vice-Chair, Patricia Davidson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Scott Andrews, Charlie Angus, Ruth Ellen Brosseau, Brad Butt, Blaine Calkins, John Carmichael, Patricia Davidson, Dean Del Mastro and Earl Dreeshen.


Acting Members present: Alexandre Boulerice for Pierre-Luc Dusseault, Mylène Freeman for Jean Crowder, Peter Julian for Charlie Angus and Devinder Shory for Colin Mayes.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Dara Lithwick, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission: Konrad W. von Finckenstein, Chairman; Christianne Laizner, General Counsel , Telecommunications; Graham Sheppard, Senior Annual Returns Auditor. Canadian Taxpayers Federation: Gregory Thomas, Federal and Ontario Director.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(h) and the motion adopted by the Committee on September 20, 2011, the Committee resumed its study of the access to information dispute and the resulting court actions concerning CBC.

Konrad W. von Finckenstein made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 9:47 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:51 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Gregory Thomas made a statement and answered questions.


At 10:49 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Chad Mariage
Clerk of the Committee

2011/10/21 2:42 p.m.