Skip to main content Start of content

ETHI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 77
Wednesday, May 1, 2013

The Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics met in camera at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 228, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Pierre-Luc Dusseault, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Scott Andrews, Charlie Angus, Alexandre Boulerice, Brad Butt, John Carmichael, Patricia Davidson, Earl Dreeshen, Pierre-Luc Dusseault and Colin Mayes.


Acting Members present: Mylène Freeman for Charmaine Borg, Claude Gravelle for Charlie Angus and Chris Warkentin for Dean Del Mastro.


Associate Members present: Brent Rathgeber.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Miguel Bernal-Castillero, Analyst; Maxime-Olivier Thibodeau, Analyst.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, March 27, 2013, and the motion adopted by the Committee on Monday, April 22, 2013, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-461, An Act to amend the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act (disclosure of information).

It was agreed, — That the following witnesses be invited to appear in relation to Bill C-461, An Act to amend the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act (disclosure of information):

  • Brent Rathgeber, M.P. (Sponsor of the Bill)
  • Canadian Broadcasting Corporation
  • Canadian Media Guild
  • Fédération professionnelle des journalistes du Québec
  • Gregory Thomas, Federal Director, Canadian Taxpayers’ Federation
  • Stephen Taylor, Director, National Citizens Coalition
  • Suzanne Legault, Information Commissioner of Canada, Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada
  • Tony Burman, Velma Rogers Graham Research Chair, Ryerson University


Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, December 10, 2012, section 67 of the Conflict of Interest Act, and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, December 11, 2012, the Committee resumed the statutory review of the Conflict of Interest Act.
The Committee proceeded to the consideration of a summary of evidence.

At 5:29 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Chad Mariage
Clerk of the Committee

2013/06/17 3:17 p.m.