Skip to main content Start of content

COOP Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 7
Friday, July 27, 2012

The Special Committee on Co-operatives met in a televised session at 9:08 a.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, Blake Richards, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Malcolm Allen, Hon. Mauril Bélanger, Ray Boughen, Ruth Ellen Brosseau, Brad Butt, Dan Harris, Pierre Lemieux, LaVar Payne, Joe Preston and Blake Richards.


Acting Members present: Lysane Blanchette-Lamothe for Hélène LeBlanc, Mathieu Ravignat for Dan Harris and Michelle Rempel for Jacques Gourde.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mathieu Frigon, Analyst; Khamla Heminthavong, Analyst. House of Commons: Graeme Truelove, Co-Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Assiniboine Credit Union: Nigel Mohammed, Director, Business and Community Financial Centre; Dale Ward, Corporate Secretary, Manitoba Central. Red Hat Co-operative Ltd.: Albert Cramer, Chairman, Board of Directors; Doyle Brandt, Director, Board of Directors. Federation of Alberta Gas Co-ops Ltd.: Peter Harty, Director; Kevin Crush, Manager, Communications. Concentra Financial Services Association: Jodie Stark, Vice-President, Legal and Corporate Affairs. Community Health Co-operative Federation Ltd.: Tim Archer, Executive Director; Patrick Lapointe, Member. Alberta Federation of Rural Electrification Associations (AFREA): Merv Rockel, President; Dan Astner, Vice-President. Mountain View Credit Union Limited: Robert Marshall, President and Chief Executive Officer. United Farmers of Alberta: Bob Nelson, President and Chief Executive Officer; Bill Dobson, Director. Canadian Worker Co-operative Federation: Hazel Corcoran, Executive Director; Peter Hough, Financial Officer. Manitoba Cooperative Association: Vera Goussaert, Executive Director.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, May 30, 2012, and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, June 19, 2012, the Committee resumed its study of the status of co-operatives in Canada.

Nigel Mohammed, by videoconference from Winnipeg, Manitoba, Albert Cramer and Doyle Brandt, by videoconference from Medicine Hat, Alberta, and Peter Harty made statements and, with Dale Ward, by videoconference from Winnipeg, Manitoba, and Kevin Crush, answered questions.


At 10:35 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:57 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Jodie Stark, Patrick Lapointe and Tim Archer, by videoconference from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, made statements and answered questions.


At 12:16 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:50 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Merv Rockel and Robert Marshall made statements and, with Dan Astner, answered questions.


At 3:19 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:33 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Bill Dobson, Hazel Corcoran, Peter Hough and Vera Goussaert made statements and, with Bob Nelson, answered questions.


At 5:00 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:06 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 5:25 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Paul Cardegna
Co-Clerk of the Committee

2012/10/18 1:43 p.m.