Skip to main content Start of content

COOP Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 1
Tuesday, June 19, 2012

The Special Committee on Co-operatives met at 3:35 p.m. this day, in Room 306, La Promenade Building, for the purpose of electing a Chair, pursuant to Standing Order 106(2).


Members of the Committee present: Joyce Bateman, Hon. Mauril Bélanger, Ray Boughen, Ruth Ellen Brosseau, Brad Butt, Jacques Gourde, Dan Harris, Hélène LeBlanc, Pierre Lemieux, Joe Preston and Blake Richards.


Acting Members present: Alex Atamanenko for Malcolm Allen.


In attendance: House of Commons: Marlene Sandoval, Procedural Clerk.

The Clerk of the Committee presided over the election of a Chair.

On motion of Brad Butt, it was agreed, — That Blake Richards be elected Chair of the Committee.


The Clerk of the Committee presided over the election of the Vice-Chairs.


On motion of Dan Harris, it was agreed, — That Hélène LeBlanc be elected First Vice-Chair of the Committee.


On motion of Jacques Gourde, it was agreed, — That Hon. Mauril Bélanger be elected Second Vice-Chair of the Committee.


Blake Richards took the Chair.


At 3:39 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:40 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.


It was agreed, — That the Committee meet on July 10, 2012 in Ottawa, Ontario, to hear from witnesses with expertise on the issue of co-operatives in Canada; and that the Committee be authorized to travel to the areas of Fredericton, New Brunswick, Québec City, Québec, Regina, Saskatchewan, and Vancouver, British Columbia, between the dates of July 24 and July 27, 2012 to hear from witnesses; and that the Committee meet at the call of the Chair between the dates of August 27 and August 30, 2012 to write the main report; and that each recognized party be authorized to append a dissenting report no longer than the main report; and that each dissenting report be provided to the Clerk of the Committee in both official languages no later than 12:00 p.m., September 12, 2012; and that the full report be tabled in the House of Commons no later than the third sitting day of the House following September 12, 2012; and that the Committee sit up to eight hours per day including a one-hour break; and that the Committee adopt the routine motions of the Standing Committee of Agriculture and Agri-Food with the exception of the routine motion pertaining to reduced quorum which shall read “seven (7) members” instead of “four (4) members”.


Accordingly, it was agreed:


That the Committee retain, as needed and at the discretion of the Chair, the services of one or more analysts from the Library of Parliament to assist it in its work.

That the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure be established and composed of the Chair, one (1) member of the New Democratic party, one (1) member of the Liberal party and two (2) members of the Conservative party.

That the Chair be authorized to hold meetings and to receive and publish evidence when a quorum is not present, provided that at least seven (7) members are present, including one member of the opposition and one of the government.

That only the Clerk of the Committee be authorized to distribute documents to the members of the Committee and only when the documents are available in both official languages, and that witnesses be advised accordingly.

That the Clerk of the Committee be authorized to make the necessary arrangements to provide working meals for the Committee and its subcommittees.

That, if requested, reasonable travel, accommodation and living expenses be reimbursed to witnesses, not exceeding two (2) representatives per organization; and that, in exceptional circumstances, payment for more representatives be made at the discretion of the Chair.

That, unless otherwise ordered, each Committee member be allowed to be accompanied by one staff person at an in camera meeting. In addition, each party shall be permitted to have one party staff member attend in camera meetings.

That one copy of the transcript of each in camera meeting be kept in the Committee Clerk’s office for consultation by members of the Committee or by their staff.

That a notice of 48 hours, interpreted as two nights, be required before a member may move a substantive motion, unless it deals directly with the matter before the Committee at this time, provided that: (a) this notice be e-mailed to the Clerk of the Committee no later than 4:00 p.m. from Monday to Friday; (b) that the notice be distributed by e-mail to members in both official languages by the Clerk of the Committee on the same day the said notice was transmitted if it was received no later than the deadline hour; (c) that notices received after the deadline hour be deemed to have been received during the next business day; and (d) that this rule does not prevent a member from giving notice of a motion orally during a meeting of the Committee, in which case notice shall be deemed to have been given before the deadline that day.

That witnesses shall be allowed up to ten (10) minutes to make their opening statement. During the questioning of witnesses, there be allocated five (5) minutes for the first two rounds of questioning, and that subsequent rounds of questioning be at the discretion of the Chair.

That the order of questions for the first round of questioning shall be as follows: New Democrats, Conservatives and Liberals. Questioning during the second round shall be as follows: Conservatives, New Democrats, Conservatives, New Democrats, Conservatives, New Democrats, Conservatives and Conservatives. Based on the principle that each committee member should have a full opportunity to question the witnesses. If time permits, a third round of questioning follow the same order as the second round of questioning.


At 5:02 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Paul Cardegna
Clerk of the Committee

2013/01/24 2:10 p.m.