Skip to main content
Start of content

CIMM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 33
Monday, April 30, 2012

The Standing Committee on Citizenship and Immigration met in a televised session at 3:32 p.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, David Tilson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Rick Dykstra, Alain Giguère, Sadia Groguhé, Roxanne James, Kevin Lamoureux, Chungsen Leung, Costas Menegakis, Ted Opitz, Jinny Jogindera Sims, Rathika Sitsabaiesan and David Tilson.


Acting Members present: Tarik Brahmi for Sadia Groguhé, Tarik Brahmi for Rathika Sitsabaiesan and Devinder Shory for John Weston.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Julie Béchard, Analyst; Sandra Elgersma, Analyst.


Witnesses: Centre for Immigration Policy Reform: Martin Collacott, Spokeperson. Human Rights Research and Education Centre, University of Ottawa: Peter Showler, Director, Refugee Forum. As an individual: Julie Taub, Immigration and Refugee Lawyer. Canadian Civil Liberties Association: Noa Mendelsohn Aviv, Director, Equality Program; Nathalie Des Rosiers, General Counsel. Ontario Council of Agencies Serving Immigrants (OCASI): Debbie Douglas, Executive Director; Francisco Rico-Martinez, Regional Director, Toronto. Ministry of Attorney General - Ontario: Toni Skarica, Crown Attorney.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, April 23, 2012, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-31, An Act to amend the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act, the Balanced Refugee Reform Act, the Marine Transportation Security Act and the Department of Citizenship and Immigration Act.

Martin Collacott and Peter Showler made statements and answered questions.


At 4:29 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:32 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Julie Taub and Nathalie Des Rosiers made statements and answered questions.


At 5:21 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:23 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Debbie Douglas, Francisco Rico-Martinez and Toni Skarica made statements and answered questions.


At 6:19 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Julie Lalande Prud'homme
Clerk of the Committee

2012-05-01 10:15 a.m.