Skip to main content
Start of content

CIIT Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 48
Tuesday, October 2, 2012

The Standing Committee on International Trade met at 3:32 p.m. this day, in Room 268, La Promenade Building, the Chair, the Hon. Rob Merrifield, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Ron Cannan, Don Davies, Hon. Wayne Easter, Ed Holder, Gerald Keddy, Hon. Rob Merrifield, Marc-André Morin, Annick Papillon, Jasbir Sandhu, Bev Shipley and Devinder Shory.


Acting Members present: Bryan Hayes for Russ Hiebert.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Alexandre Gauthier, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade: Cameron MacKay, Director General, China Trade Policy Bureau; Neil Reeder, Director General, Latin America and Caribbean Bureau; John O'Neill, Director, Investment Trade Policy Division; Kevin Thompson, Director, Government Procurement, Trade and Environment. Department of Finance: Alain Castonguay, Senior Chief, Tax Treaties, Tax Policy Branch. Department of Human Resources and Skills Development: Pierre Bouchard, Director, Bilateral and Regional Labour Affairs.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, June 20, 2012 and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, September 18, 2012, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-24, An Act to implement the Free Trade Agreement between Canada and the Republic of Panama, the Agreement on the Environment between Canada and the Republic of Panama and the Agreement on Labour Cooperation between Canada and the Republic of Panama.

Cameron MacKay made a statement and, with Alain Castonguay and Neil Reeder, answered questions.


At 4:34 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Paul Cardegna
Clerk of the Committee

2013/01/25 11:47 a.m.