Skip to main content Start of content

CC11 Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 2
Thursday, February 16, 2012

The Legislative Committee on Bill C-11 met in a televised session at 9:01 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Glenn Thibeault, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Charlie Angus, Scott Armstrong, Tyrone Benskin, Peter Braid, Paul Calandra, Dean Del Mastro, Pierre Dionne Labelle, Mike Lake, Phil McColeman, Hon. Rob Moore, Pierre Nantel and Scott Simms.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Maxime-Olivier Thibodeau, Analyst. House of Commons: Isabelle Dumas, Procedural Clerk.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

Dean Del Mastro moved, — That the Committee proceed to sit in camera.


The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to, by a show of hands: YEAS: 7; NAYS: 4.


At 9:05 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:06 a.m., the sitting resumed in camera.


It was agreed, — That the following organisations and individuals be invited to appear in relation to Bill C-11, An Act to amend the Copyright Act:

As an individual, Amy Joanna Piper, Law professor, McGill University
As an individual, James Gannon, McCarthy Tetrault
As an individual, Jeremy DeBeer, Professor, University of Ottawa, Faculty of Law
As an individual, Sam Trosow, Associate Professor, University of Western Ontario, Faculty of Law

Alliance for Equality of Blind Canadians
Artists Legal Outreach and Education Society (BC)
Arts & Crafts (indie record label)
Association nationale des éditeurs de livres
Association of Canadian Community Colleges
Audio Cine Films Inc.
Audio-Video Licensing Agency Inc.
Business Coalition for Balanced Copyright (Jay Kerr-Wilson)
Business Software Alliance (Michael Murphy, Chair, BSA Canada Committee)
Canadian Artists Representation Copyright Collective Inc.
Canadian Association of Graduate Studies
Canadian Association of Internet Providers
Canadian Association of Law Libraries
Canadian Association of Professional Image Creators
Canadian Consumer Initiative
Canadian Council of Archives
Canadian Educational Resources Council
Canadian Federation of Independent Business
Canadian Federation of Musicians
Canadian Home and School Federation
Canadian Independent Music Association
Canadian Intellectual Property Council
Canadian Music Publishers' Association
Canadian Photographers Coalition
Canadian Publishers' Council
Canadian School Boards Association
CHUM Radio
Coalition des ayants droit musicaux sur Internet
Coalition for Cultural Diversity
Conférence des recteurs et des principaux des universités du Québec
Corus Communications
Criterion Pictures
Directors Guild of Canada
eBay Canada
Electronic Arts Canada
Epitome Pictures Inc.
Google Inc.
Information Technology Association of Canada
Internet Direct / Tucows Interactive
Jim Patteson Group
Microsoft Canada
Minister of Culture, Communications and Status of Women - Quebec (Christine St-Pierre)
Pineridge Broadcasting Group
Public Interest Advocacy Centre
Quebecor Media Inc.
Rawlco Radio
Recording Artist' Collecting Society
Société de développement des entreprises culturelles
Société des auteurs de radio, télévision et cinéma
Société professionelle des auteurs et compositeurs du Québec
Society for Reproduction Rights of Authors, Composers and Publishers in Canada (Gilles Lessard)
Writers' Union of Canada.


At 10:35 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Holke David
Clerk of the Committee

2012/02/17 2:53 p.m.