Skip to main content
Start of content

AANO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 58
Tuesday, February 5, 2013

The Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development met at 8:50 a.m. this day, in Room 228, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Chris Warkentin, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Stella Ambler, Dennis Bevington, Ray Boughen, Rob Clarke, Jean Crowder, Jonathan Genest-Jourdain, Carol Hughes, Greg Rickford, Kyle Seeback, Chris Warkentin and David Wilks.


Acting Members present: Frank Valeriote for Hon. Carolyn Bennett.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Norah Kielland, Analyst; Tonina Simeone, Analyst.


Witnesses: Nunavut Planning Commission: Paul Quassa, Chair; Sharon Ehaloak, Executive Director; Adrian Boyd. Mining Association of Canada: Pierre Gratton, President and Chief Executive Officer; Rick Meyers, Vice-President, Technical and Northern Affairs. Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada: Nadim Kara, Senior Program Director.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, November 26, 2012, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-47, An Act to enact the Nunavut Planning and Project Assessment Act and the Northwest Territories Surface Rights Board Act and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts.

Paul Quassa, Nadim Kara and Pierre Gratton made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 10:28 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:33 a.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 10:36 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-Marie David
Clerk of the Committee

2013/02/05 1:04 p.m.