Skip to main content
Start of content

AANO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 55
Wednesday, December 12, 2012

The Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development met at 3:29 p.m. this day, in Room 7-52, 131 Queen Street, the Chair, Chris Warkentin, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Carolyn Bennett, Dennis Bevington, Ray Boughen, Rob Clarke, Jean Crowder, Blake Richards and Chris Warkentin.


Acting Members present: Mark Adler for David Wilks, Dan Albas for Kyle Seeback, Don Davies for Jonathan Genest-Jourdain, Ryan Leef for Greg Rickford and Claude Patry for Carol Hughes.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Norah Kielland, Analyst; Tonina Simeone, Analyst.


Witnesses: Government of Yukon: Laurie A. Henderson, Managing Counsel, Legal Services Branch, Department of Justice.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, November 26, 2012, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-47, An Act to enact the Nunavut Planning and Project Assessment Act and the Northwest Territories Surface Rights Board Act and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts.

Laurie A. Henderson made a statement and answered questions.


At 4:11 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:12 p.m., the sitting resumed.


At 4:19 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:21 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 4:23 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Michelle Tittley
Clerk of the Committee

2012/12/13 3:06 p.m.