Skip to main content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 28
Thursday, October 21, 2010

The Standing Committee on Transport, Infrastructure and Communities met by videoconference at 11:05 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Merv Tweed, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dennis Bevington, Lois Brown, Sukh Dhaliwal, Roger Gaudet, Michel Guimond, Brian Jean, Colin Mayes, Hon. John McCallum, Brad Trost, Merv Tweed and Jeff Watson.


Acting Members present: Hon. Denis Coderre for Hon. Gerry Byrne, Bonnie Crombie for Hon. John McCallum and Bernard Généreux for Colin Mayes.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: John Christopher, Analyst; Dean Ruffili, Analyst.


Witnesses: Association of Manitoba Municipalities: Doug Dobrowolski, President; Joe Masi, Executive Director. Union of Quebec Municipalities: Gilles Vaillancourt, Member of the Executive Committee, President of the Commission on Fiscality and Local Finances and Mayor of the City of Laval; Joël Bélanger, Policy Advisor. Fédération Québécoise des Municipalités: Bernard Généreux, President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motions adopted by the Committee on April 29 and October 7 2010, the Committee resumed its study of the Government of Canada's deadline of March 31, 2011, for completion of projects under the Infrastructure Stimulus Fund and the Recreational Infrastructure Canada Program

Doug Dobrowolski made a statement and, with Joe Masi, answered questions.


At 11:51 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:03 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Gilles Vaillancourt, and Bernard Généreux by videoconference from St-Félicien, Que., made statements and answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That Members provide their amendments to Bills C-509, An Act to amend the Canada Post Corporation Act (library materials), and C-20, An Act to amend the National Capital Act and other Acts, to the Clerk of the Committee by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, October 22, 2010.


At 1:03 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Bonnie Charron
Clerk of the Committee

2010/10/27 7:32 a.m.