Skip to main content
Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 23
Thursday, June 10, 2010

The Standing Committee on Transport, Infrastructure and Communities met at 9:05 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Merv Tweed, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dennis Bevington, Bonnie Crombie, Sukh Dhaliwal, Brian Jean, Mario Laframboise, Colin Mayes, Blake Richards, Merv Tweed, Hon. Joseph Volpe and Jeff Watson.


Acting Members present: Gérard Asselin for Roger Gaudet, Bernard Généreux for Lois Brown, Bruce Hyer for Dennis Bevington, Gerard Kennedy for Bonnie Crombie and Gerard Kennedy for Hon. Joseph Volpe.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: John Christopher, Analyst; Dean Ruffili, Analyst.


Witnesses: Union of Quebec Municipalities: Joël Bélanger, Policy Advisor; Gilles Vaillancourt, Member of the Executive Committee, President of the Commission on Fiscality and Local Finances and Mayor of the City of Laval.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on April 29, 2010, the Committee commenced its study of the impact of the government's deadline of March 31, 2011, for infrastructure stimulus projects, and December 31, 2010, for the completion of projects under the Recreational Infrastructure Canada Program (RinC) and the Water and Wastewater Pipeline Renewal Program (PRECO)

Gilles Vaillancourt made a statement and answered questions.


At 10:59 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-Marie David
Committee Clerk

2010/06/15 11:59 a.m.