Skip to main content Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 56
Thursday, February 17, 2011

The Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security met in a televised session at 8:50 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Kevin Sorenson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Don Davies, Roger Gaudet, Mark Holland, Andrew Kania, Ben Lobb, Dave MacKenzie, Phil McColeman, Alexandra Mendes, Maria Mourani, Rick Norlock, Brent Rathgeber and Kevin Sorenson.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Lyne Casavant, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. Vic Toews, P.C., M.P., Minister of Public Safety.


Witnesses: Library of Parliament: Kevin Page, Parliamentary Budget Officer; Mostafa Askari, Assistant Parliamentary Budget Officer, Economic and Fiscal Analysis, Office of the Parliamentary Budget Officer; Sahir Khan, Assistant Parliamentary Budget Officer, Expenditure and Revenue Analysis, Office of the Parliamentary Budget Officer; Ashutosh Rajekar, Financial Advisor, Office of the Parliamentary Budget Officer. Correctional Service of Canada: Don Head, Commissioner.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 1, 2011, the Committee commenced its study of expansion of penitentiaries.

Kevin Page made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 9:45 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:48 a.m., the sitting resumed.


The Minister made a statement and, with Don Head, answered questions.


At 10:45 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Roger Préfontaine
Clerk of the Committee

2011/02/17 2:21 p.m.