Skip to main content Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 15
Tuesday, May 4, 2010

The Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security met in a televised session at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Garry Breitkreuz, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Garry Breitkreuz, Luc Desnoyers, Shelly Glover, Mark Holland, Andrew Kania, Dave MacKenzie, Phil McColeman, Maria Mourani, Rick Norlock, Brent Rathgeber and Borys Wrzesnewskyj.


Acting Members present: Robert Bouchard for Luc Desnoyers and Joe Comartin for Don Davies.


Associate Members present: Irene Mathyssen.


Other Members present: Hon. Marlene Jennings.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Lyne Casavant, Analyst.


Witnesses: House of Commons: Candice Hoeppner, Portage—Lisgar. Calgary Police Service: Rick Hanson, Chief of Police. Canadian Association of Police Boards: Alok Mukherjee, Secretary-Treasurer; Carol Allison-Burra, Director. YWCA Canada: Ann Decter, Director, Advocacy and Public Policy; Paulette Senior, Chief Executive Officer. Royal Canadian Mounted Police: William Sweeney, Senior Deputy Commissioner; Marty Cheliak, Director General, Canadian Firearms Program.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, March 3, 2010, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-391, An Act to amend the Criminal Code and the Firearms Act (repeal of long-gun registry).

At 3:34 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:40 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Candice Hoeppner made a statement and answered questions.


At 4:12 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:16 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Carol Allison-Burra, Paulette Senior, William Sweeney, Marty Cheliak and Rick Hanson made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 5:33 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Roger Préfontaine
Clerk of the Committee

2010/05/05 10:25 a.m.