Skip to main content
Start of content

RNNR Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 33
Tuesday, November 23, 2010

The Standing Committee on Natural Resources met by videoconference at 11:04 a.m. this day, in Room 7-52, 131 Queen St., the Chair, Leon Benoit, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mike Allen, David Anderson, Scott Andrews, Leon Benoit, Paule Brunelle, Hon. Denis Coderre, Nathan Cullen, Cheryl Gallant, Richard M. Harris, Roger Pomerleau, Devinder Shory and Alan Tonks.


Acting Members present: Gerard Kennedy for Scott Andrews.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Jean-Luc Bourdages, Analyst; Mohamed Zakzouk, Analyst.


Witnesses: Talisman Energy Inc.: Reg Manhas, Vice-President, Corporate Affairs; James Fraser, Senior Vice-President, Shale Division, North American Operations. Canadian Society for Unconventional Gas: Kevin Heffernan, Vice-President. Encana Corporation: Richard Dunn, Vice-President, Canadian Division, Regulatory and Government Relations. Department of Natural Resources: David Boerner, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Earth Sciences Sector; Marc D'Iorio, Director General, Director General's Office; Denis Lavoie, Research Geoscientist, Earth Sciences Sector - Georesources and Regional Geology.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, October 7, 2010, the Committee resumed its study of energy security in Canada.

Reg Manhas, James Fraser and Kevin Heffernan made statements and answered questions.


At 12:07 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:11 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Richard Dunn, by videoconference from Calgary, Alberta, and Marc D'Iorio made statements and, with David Boerner and Denis Lavoie, answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

Nathan Cullen moved, — That the Committee hold at least one meeting to examine: the proposed shipment of 1600 tonnes of radioactive steam generators by Bruce Power, the broader policy framework governing import and export of radioactive waste from Canadian territory, transport of radioactive waste through the Great Lakes, and "recycling" of radioactive metal for free release into the marketplace; that the Committee invite to testify: Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) President Michael Binder, representatives of Bruce Power, Mayor Gaëtan Ruest of Amqui Quebec, David Ullrich of the Great Lakes and St. Lawrence Cities Initiative, Grand Council Chief Patrick Madahbe, Union of Ontario Indians, and Gordon Edwards of the Canadian Coalition for Nuclear Responsibility; and that the Committee report its findings to the House of Commons.

Debate arose thereon.


It was agreed, — That the debate be now adjourned.


At 1:08 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Lauzon
Clerk of the Committee

2010/11/29 8:59 a.m.