Skip to main content
Start of content

PACP Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 48
Thursday, March 3, 2011

The Standing Committee on Public Accounts met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, the Hon. Joseph Volpe, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Navdeep Bains, David Christopherson, Jean-Claude D'Amours, Earl Dreeshen, Meili Faille, Daryl Kramp, Andrew Saxton, Bev Shipley, Hon. Joseph Volpe and Terence Young.


Acting Members present: Ray Boughen for Terence Young, Peter Goldring for Terence Young and Jean-Yves Laforest for Richard Nadeau.


In attendance: House of Commons: Miriam Burke, Procedural Clerk. Library of Parliament: Sébastien T. Defoy, Analyst; Alex Smith, Analyst.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

Andrew Saxton raised a question of privilege regarding the disclosure by the Chair of information contained in documents provided to the Committee pursuant to the motion adopted on Thursday, February 10, 2011.


At 4:27 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:31 p.m., the sitting resumed.



The Chair ruled that the question raised does not relate to parliamentary privilege.

Whereupon, Andrew Saxton appealed the decision of the Chair.

The question, “Shall the decision of the Chair be sustained?” was put and the decision was maintained on a show of hands: YEAS: 5; NAYS: 5.

The Chair's decision was sustained.

At 5:05 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Joann Garbig
Clerk of the Committee

2011-04-06 10:07 a.m.