Skip to main content

PACP Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 13
Thursday, May 6, 2010

The Standing Committee on Public Accounts met in a televised session at 9:01 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Shawn Murphy, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Josée Beaudin, David Christopherson, Hon. Stéphane Dion, Earl Dreeshen, Meili Faille, Daryl Kramp, Derek Lee, Hon. Shawn Murphy, Andrew Saxton, Bev Shipley and Terence Young.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Maria Edwards, Analyst; Alex Smith, Analyst.


Witnesses: Office of the Auditor General of Canada: Scott Vaughan, Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development; Jim McKenzie, Principal. Department of the Environment: Brian T. Gray, Assistant Deputy Minister, Science and Technology Branch; Cynthia Wright, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Stewardship Branch; Margaret Kenny, Director General, Chemical Sectors; George Enei, Director General, Sciences and Risk Assessment. Department of Health: Glenda Yeates, Deputy Minister; Karen Lloyd, Director General, Safe Environments Directorate; Athana Mentzelopoulos, Director General, Consumer Product Safety Directorate.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(g), and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, April 22, 2010, the Committee commenced consideration of Chapter 2, “Risks of Toxic Substances,” of the Fall 2009 Report of the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development.

Scott Vaughan, Cynthia Wright and Glenda Yeates made statements and, with Karen Lloyd, George Enei, Grian T. Gray and Jim McKenzie, answered questions.


At 10:54 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Joann Garbig
Clerk of the Committee

2010/05/06 1:09 p.m.