Skip to main content Start of content

LANG Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 40
Tuesday, February 1, 2011

The Standing Committee on Official Languages met in a televised session at 8:49 a.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, Steven Blaney, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Mauril Bélanger, Steven Blaney, Royal Galipeau, Bernard Généreux, Yvon Godin, Monique Guay, Guy Lauzon and Lise Zarac.


Acting Members present: Sylvie Boucher for Tilly O'Neill-Gordon, Jacques Gourde for Greg Rickford and Luc Malo for Richard Nadeau.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Nicolas Auclair, Analyst; Lucie Lecomte, Analyst.


Witnesses: Passport Canada: Christine Desloges, Chief Executive Officer; Danielle Marquis, Chief Human Resources Officer. Department of Public Works and Government Services: François Guimont, Deputy Minister, Deputy Receiver General for Canada; Diane Lorenzato, Assistant Deputy Minister, Human Resources Branch; Francine Kennedy, Chief Executive Officer, Translation Bureau; Marc Olivier, Manager, Translation Bureau, Linguistic Services Division.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(f), the Committee resumed consideration of the 2009-2010 Annual Report (Volume II) of the Commissioner of Official Languages referred to the Committee on Tuesday, November 2, 2010.

Christine Desloges made a statement and, with Danielle Marquis, answered questions.


At 9:46 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:50 a.m., the sitting resumed.


François Guimont and Marc Olivier made statements and, with Diane Lorenzato and Francine Kennedy, answered questions.


At 10:49 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Simon Larouche
Clerk of the Committee

2011/02/03 7:59 a.m.