Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 22
Tuesday, June 8, 2010

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met in camera at 11:02 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Ed Fast, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Joe Comartin, Bob Dechert, Ed Fast, Hon. Dominic LeBlanc, Marc Lemay, Serge Ménard, Alexandra Mendes, Brian Murphy, Rick Norlock, Daniel Petit, Brent Rathgeber and Stephen Woodworth.


Acting Members present: Megan Anissa Leslie for Joe Comartin.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Robin MacKay, Analyst; Lyne Casavant, Analyst. House of Commons: Simon Larouche, Committee Clerk.


Witnesses: As an individual: Nicholas Bala, Professor of Law, Faculty of Law, Queen's University. Commission des droits de la personne et des droits de la jeunesse: Sylvie Godin, Vice-President; Claire Bernard, Legal Advisor, Research Branch, Education-Cooperation and Communications. New Brunswick Foster Families Association: Wendy Galpin, Secretary; Judy Smith, Director. Moncton Youth Residences Inc.: Mel Kennah, Executive Director. Provincial Court of New Brunswick: Hon. Andrew W. LeMesurier, Judge. Saskatoon Police Service: Clive Weighill, Chief of Police.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That, for meetings concerning Bill C-4, An Act to amend the Youth Criminal Justice Act and to make consequential and related amendments to other Acts, on June 10, 15, 17 and 22, 2010, panels be composed of no more than four witnesses on each panel;

That each meeting be for no more than two hours, from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.;

That there be one panel per meeting; and

That Members may submit to the Clerk names of witnesses from whom they wish to receive further testimony at meetings to be scheduled following the summer adjournment.


At 11:36 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:38 a.m., the sitting resumed in public.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, May 3, 2010, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-4, An Act to amend the Youth Criminal Justice Act and to make consequential and related amendments to other Acts.

Clive Weighill, Sylvie Godin, Judy Smith, Mel Kennah and Nicholas Bala made statements, and with Wendy Galpin, answered questions.


At 12:56 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:00 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.


The witness made a statement and answered questions.


At 1:30 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2010/06/09 4:29 p.m.