Skip to main content
Start of content

INDU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 56
Thursday, February 10, 2011

The Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology met at 3:25 p.m. this day, in Room 268, La Promenade Building, the Chair, David Sweet, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Robert Bouchard, Peter Braid, Serge Cardin, Mike Lake, Brian Masse, Hon. Dan McTeague, Anthony Rota, David Sweet, Dave Van Kesteren and Mike Wallace.


Acting Members present: Siobhan Coady for Marc Garneau.


In attendance: House of Commons: Julie Lalande Prud'homme, Procedural Clerk. Library of Parliament: Mathieu Frigon, Analyst; Dillan Theckedath, Analyst.


Witnesses: Steve Anderson, Founder and National Coordinator. Bell Canada: Jonathan Daniels, Vice-President, Law and Regulatory Affairs; Mirko Bibic, Senior Vice-President, Regulatory and Government Affairs. Shaw Communications Inc.: Jean Brazeau, Senior Vice-President, Regulatory Affairs; Ken Stein, Senior Vice-President, Corporate and Regulatory Affairs. Canadian Association of Internet Providers: Monica Song, Counsel, Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP. MTS Allstream Inc.: Teresa Griffin-Muir, Vice-President, Regulatory Affairs. Union des consommateurs: Anthony Hémond, Lawyer, Analyst, policy and regulations in telecommunications, broadcasting, information highway and privacy. Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc.: Bill Sandiford, President; Christian S. Tacit, Barrister and Solicitor, Counsel.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 1, 2011, the Committee resumed its study of the recent decisions of the CRTC concerning the billing practices of internet service providers.

On motion of Serge Cardin, it was agreed, — That, in order to complete the hearings of the witnesses under its study on the recent CRTC’s decisions on internet services billing, the Committee holds a fourth meeting in order to hear the Minister of Industry and the department officials.


Bill Sandiford, Anthony Hémond, Monica Song, Teresa Griffin-Muir and Steve Anderson made statements and, with Christian S. Tacit, answered questions.


At 4:41 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:46 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Mirko Bibic, Ken Stein and Jean Brazeau made statements and, with Jonathan Daniels, answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.


I am now ready to rule on the question of privilege raised by Mike Lake on Tuesday, February 8, 2011, concerning the possible reference by a member to a vote that was taken during the in camera portion of the meeting held on Tuesday, February 1, 2011. I have reviewed the Committee’s in camera and public evidence of the meeting, and in my opinion, the question does not relate to privilege.


At 5:37 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean Michel Roy
Clerk of the Committee

2011/02/11 11:56 a.m.